• Decrease font size
  • Default font           size
  • Increase font size
The Executive Secretariat mobilizes itself for the Water Convention, political decision-makers at the heart of the action!
Friday, 12 April 2019 16:28

NBA: The Executive Secretariat mobilizes itself for the Water Convention, political decision-makers at the heart of the action!
It was in Abidjan, Republic of Côte d’Ivoire, that the NBA Executive Secretariat, in collaboration with the Water Convention’ Secretariat, organized an Information and Sensitization Day on the ratification of the Water Convention by Member Countries.
With Climate Change whose effects are increasingly visible/felt over the entire surface of the globe, fresh water is becoming scarce, lakes and ponds are shrinking from one year to the other, rivers’ flow is disturbed and water needs for multiple uses (irrigation, hydropower production, water tank construction, etc.) lead to either latent or declared conflicts between many countries in the world. To defuse and prevent latent conflicts and to lay the foundations for settling declared conflicts linked to the use of international water resources, two actions are proposed to countries by the international community: The ratification of the Water Convention and the introduction of “water as a vehicle for peace” in international diplomacy by the United Nations.  
It is within such a context that the NBA Executive Secretariat, in relation with the Water Convention’ Secretariat, organized an information and sensitization day on the Water Convention in Abidjan on 11th April 2019. The objective of the event is to urge NBA Member Countries to ratify the Water Convention and to make NBA known in terms of its mission to support the basin’s populations’ socio-economic development and to strengthen cooperation among NBA Member Countries. That high-level meeting was marked by the presence of Ambassadors of NBA Member Countries accredited in Republic of Côte d’Ivoire, members of the Regional Network of Members of Parliament of the Niger Basin, Advisers to NBA Member Countries’ Heads of State and Government in water issues, among others.
For the NBA Executive Secretary, Mr. Abderahim Bireme Hamid, “today, water resources are the cause of latent or declared conflicts between numerous countries in the world. To defuse the situation in its area, NBA developed a Water Charter in 2008 and had it adopted by Member Countries’ Heads of State and Government in order to regulate the management of Niger River’s water resources and its basin shared by Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Côte d’Ivoire, Guinea, Mali, Niger, Nigeria and Chad”.
In her speech, Ms. Francisca Bernadini from the Water Convention Secretariat said she was glad that the workshop be an initiative of the Niger Basin Authority, and particularly of its Executive Secretary to whom she expressed her deep gratitude. She added that “basin organizations are the Water Convention’s implementing agents. They are the goal and the driving force for an effective implementation of the Convention”.
The day was organized with the support of the African Development Bank and the SATH/NB Project.

 

Search

Calendrier

July 2019
S M T W T F S
30 1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31 1 2 3

• Decrease font size
  • Default font           size
  • Increase font size
Le Secrétariat Exécutif se mobilise en faveur de la convention de l’Eau, les décideurs politiques au cœur de l’action !
Vendredi, 12 Avril 2019 16:28

C’est à Abidjan, République de Côte d’Ivoire, que le Secrétariat Exécutif de l’ABN, en collaboration avec le Secrétariat de la Convention de l’Eau, a organisé le 11 Avril 2019 une Journée d’Information et de Sensibilisation sur la ratification de la Convention sur l’Eau par les Etats membres.

Avec le Changement Climatique dont les effets sont de plus en plus visibles/ou ressentis sur toute la surface du globe terrestre, l’eau douce est en raréfaction, les lacs et mares se rétrécissent d’année en année, l’écoulement des fleuves est perturbé et les besoins en eau pour les multiples usages (irrigation, Production hydroélectrique construction de réservoir d’eau etc.), sont l’objet de conflits latents ou déclarés entre de nombreux pays dans le monde. Pour désamorcer et prévenir les conflits latents et jeter les bases pour la résolution des conflits déclarés liés à l’usage des eaux internationales, deux mesures sont proposées aux Etats par la communauté internationale : la ratification de la Convention sur l’Eau et l’introduction par les Nations Unies de « l’eau comme vecteur de paix » dans la diplomatie internationale.
C’est dans un tel contexte que le Secrétariat Exécutif de l’ABN, en relation avec le Secrétariat de la Convention sur l’Eau, a organisé le 11 Avril à Abidjan une Journée d’Information et de Sensibilisation sur la Convention sur l’Eau. L’objectif de ladite rencontre est d’exhorter les Etats membre de l’ABN à ratifier la Convention sur l’Eau et de faire connaitre l’ABN dans sa mission d’appui au développement socio-économique des populations du bassin et à la coopération entre les Etats membres de l’ABN.  Cette rencontre de haut niveau a été marquée par la présence des Ambassadeurs des Etats membres de l’ABN accrédités en République de Côte d’Ivoire, les députés membres du Réseau Régional des Députés du Bassin du Niger, les Conseillers en eau des Chefs d’Etat et de Gouvernement de l’ABN.
Pour le Secrétaire Exécutif de l’ABN, Mr Abderahim Bireme Hamid, « les ressources en eau sont l’objet aujourd'hui de conflits latents ou déclarés entre de nombreux pays dans le monde. Pour désamorcer la situation, dans son espace, l’ABN en 2008 a élaboré et fait adopter par les Chefs d’Etat et de Gouvernement des Etats membres de l’organisation, la Charte de l’Eau du Bassin du Niger pour régir la gestion des eaux du fleuve Niger et de son bassin en partage entre le Bénin, le Burkina Faso, le Cameroun la Côte d’Ivoire, la Guinée, le Mali, le Niger, le Nigeria et le Tchad ».
Dans son allocution, Mme Francisca Bernadini du Secrétariat de la Convention sur l’Eau a affirmé qu’elle se réjouit du fait que l’atelier soit l’initiative de l’Autorité du bassin du Niger, et en particulier de son Secrétaire Exécutif à qui elle a exprimé sa profonde gratitude. Elle a ajouté que « les organismes de bassin sont les agents de mise en œuvre de la Convention sur l’Eau. Ils sont l’objectif et le moteur d’une application efficace de la Convention »
Cette journée a été organisée avec l’appui de la Banque Africaine de Développement et du Projet SATH/BN.

 

Recherche

Calendrier

July 2019
S M T W T F S
30 1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31 1 2 3