• Decrease font size
  • Default font           size
  • Increase font size
Official launch of PIDACC TCHAD
Monday, 23 March 2020 18:49

Official launch of the Programme Integrated for Development and Adaptation to Climate Change in the Niger Basin under the High Patronage of His Excellency IDRISS DEBI YTNO represented by His Excellency Minister of State, Secretary General of the Presidency of the Republic.
The African Development Bank, the Government of Chad and the Niger Basin Authority (NBA) launched the Programme Integrated for Development and Adaptation to Climate Change in the Niger Basin (PIDACC/NB) on Wednesday 26 February 2020, at PALA. Chad Component.
With a total cost of about CFAF 132,025 billion, including CFAF 11,428,000,000 billion for the Chad, the PIDACC/NB will contribute to improving the resilience of the Niger River ecosystems and the populations through the sustainable management of the natural resources for the benefit of 130 million of the people in the Niger Basin area spread across the 9 member countries that make it up.

The current policy orientations and options of the Government of Chad, covering the period 2013-2021, have been defined in the National Development Programme document. In these documents, the country is committed to the sustainable development of the agricultural and rural sector, which is a concentration and growth cluster capable of the contributing to the achievement of the objectives of the growth, poverty reduction, the eradication of food and nutritional insecurity.
Agriculture, livestock and fisheries remain, in the medium term, the priority sectors for financing major investments for the economic and the social development of the country. The demographic growth, with an average rate of 3.6% per year, dictates that the production growth should be at least equal to the population growth. To this end, Chad has launched strategies to combat poverty and the development of the agricultural and rural sector (SNRP, SDEA, PNDE, PNSA, PMTRA), which can secure rural economic systems.
The fundamental objective of the Programme is to strengthen the resilience of the populations, of the resources and of the ecosystems through the sustainable management of the natural resources.
Specifically, thePIDACC/NB/CHAD aims to :
- reduce the silting process of the Niger River ;
- improve the capacity of the populations to adapt to climate change ; and
- improve the natural resource management and integrated ecosystem management, the biodiversity protection and of the soil fertility restoration.
It is structured around the following three components :
- Building the resilience of the natural resources and ecosystems;
- Building the resilience of the populations ; and  
- Programme coordination and management. Gender issues and environmental protection are        mainstreamed across all components.
The programme will build the resilience of ecosystems and the natural resources and increase the resilience of the populations affected by climate change. In particular, it will include to recover 140,000 hectares of degraded land and the construction of 209 hydraulic infrastructures for agro-pastoral and fishing activities. It will also help to the implementation of 450 sub-projects for the development of agricultural chains and 184 youth SMEs, as well as to strengthen the capacity of one million households to adapt to climate change. The Programme, which also benefits from the support of other donors such as the European Union through PAGODA, the Green Climate Fund (GCF), the Strategic Climate Fund (SCF), the Global Environment Fonds (GEF), the Forest Investment Fund (FIF), and the German Cooperation KFW, will be implemented in the upper basin portions of the Inner Delta and the Niger Loop. The Chadian part (Mayo-Kebbi West and East) of the Niger Basin study area covers 4 departments, 17 sub-prefectures and 31 cantons. According to INSEED, RGPH2, 2009, the beneficiary population of the Programme was 1,009. 604 inhabitants including 526,816 women, i.e. 52.18%. The activities will be concentrated in 12 municipalities distributed between the two provinces (Mayo-Kebbi West and Mayo Kebbi East).


About the Niger Basin Authority
The Niger Basin Authority (NBA) is one of Africa's oldest intergovernmental organizations. It came into being on 21 November 1980 in Faranah (GUINEA) in place of the Niger River Commission created rather on 25 November 1964 in Niamey. Its headquarters are in Niamey, the capital of the Republic of Niger. Its aim is to promote cooperation between member countries and to ensure the integrated development of the Niger Basin in all fields of hydraulics, energy, agriculture, livestock, fisheries and aquaculture, forestry and logging, industry, mining, transport and communications. The Member States are: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Chad, C√īte d'Ivoire, Guinea, Mali, Niger and Nigeria.