• Decrease font size
  • Default font           size
  • Increase font size
Major Studies
Study of elaboration of an Action Plan for the Sustainable Development of the Niger Basin - Phase 1 : Assessment and analysis PDF Print E-mail

Plans to prepare the Action Plan for Sustainable Development (SDAP) were first made in February 2002 at the 7th Summit of Heads of State and Governments in Abuja. The summit requested that the Niger Basin Authority (NBA) develop a clear, shared vision in order to create a cooperation-instigating environment.


When the Heads of State and Government signed the Paris Declaration in April 2004, it was a reiteration of the same request, recognising the need for all to adopt integrated water resource
management principles. Last of all, at their meeting in May 2005, the Council of Ministers of the NBA described the SDAP as being a strategic document to define and guide the "shared vision" process conducted by all the Niger Basin countries by means of integrated management of their water resources and the associated ecosystems in order to improve the living standards and the prosperity of their populations by 2025.
This report is the SDAP first phase report, the Appraisal Report. In other words, it is an assessment of the issues and priority development themes in the Niger catchment area.
The top priority concerns and potential action of the SDAP are (i) the conservation of the basin's ecosystems, (ii) the development of socio-economic infrastructure, and (iii) capacity building and stakeholder involvement. These priority concerns are all intricately linked to sustainable development which cannot exist without them.

Download the Assessment and analysis

 
Study of elaboration of an Action Plan for the Sustainable Development of the Niger Basin - Phase 2: Master plan for the development and management PDF Print E-mail

The Master Plan for Development and Management of the Niger Basin under the Action Plan for the Sustainable Development of the Niger Basin (SDAP) translates the 2025 Shared Vision into tangible actions to alleviate poverty, protect the Niger Basin environment and strengthen cooperation between NBA member countries. The definition of the shared vision was adopted in 2005 by the NBA council of ministers:


"The Niger Basin, a shared region of sustainable development achieved through the comprehensive, integrated management of water resources and their associated ecosystems, to improve everyday living standards and prosperity by 2025."
The strategic guidelines for development and the operational instructions and technical principles for its implementation are derived directly from the nine principles of the Paris Declaration.

 

Download the Master plan for the development and management

 
SADP : Scenario choice PDF Print E-mail

RESOLUTION N°3 of The NBA Council of Ministers meeting in an Extraordinary Session held on 26th July, 2007 in the Conference Hall of Palais des Congrès of Niamey, Republic of Niger, Relating to the Development of the Socio-economic infrastructure for the implementation of the Sustainable Development Action Plan (SDAP).

Download the Resolution N°3

 
Synthesis of the report : Sustainable Development Action Plan (SDAP) for the river Niger Basin PDF Print E-mail

Download the Synthesis of the report of Sustainable Development Action Plan (SDAP) for the river Niger Basin

 
Study on the preparation of the Investment Plan and formulation of investment projects necessary for implementing the Shared Vision PDF Print E-mail

The NBA Investment Programme is the crowning point in the Shared Vision process. The part it is to play is one of federation and integration. It must combine and unite all the other present and/or future NBA activities.


The institutional set-up for the implementation of the IP must therefore look to meet two types of need:
- Short term: it must be compatible with the implementation of the WREM-DP and other ongoing projects and programmes (RSWDT, SCP, support to the HYCOS project, ES-NBA capacity building project, etc.) and enable gradual harmonisation of the operating modes of the various activities,
- Medium term: it must break away from the project and programme logic ("classified" by fund donor) and move ahead towards an implementation of the IP as the sole programme implemented by the NBA. In other words, the institutional organisation must evolve. It must step away from the "project = fund donor" principle towards a rationale that reproduces the structure of the IP (field, component and sub-component).

 

Download the final report

 
Synthesis of the report : Investment Program of the Sustainable Development Action Plan of the Niger basin PDF Print E-mail

The Investment Program falls under the continuity of the Master Plan for the Development and Management of the Sustainable Development Management Plan (SDAP), adopted during the Extraordinary Session of the NBA Council of Ministers held in Niamey on 26th July 2007. It constitutes one of the main outcomes of the implementation of the Shared Vision process.

Download the synthesis of the Report

 
ATLAS: Localisation of actions PDF Print E-mail

Download the Atlas

 
Civil Society participation - Phase 1: Regional synthesis of the study of Recognition, identification and characterization of the Niger river basin water stakeholders and users for their effective involvement and participation in the Shared Vision Process PDF Print E-mail

Within the framework of the Shared Vision process, a study of identification and characterization of the Niger river basin water stakeholders and users has been elaborated around seven (7) topics in order to allow a better involvement of civil society in NBA the institution life and elaborate actions for the basin sustainable development.


The themes used as basis for this study are : Agriculture and stockbreeding, Fishing and navigation, Drinking water and sanitation, Ecosystems protection, Dams, Tourism, Mines, industry and craft industry.
This study helps to better know actors, their various forms of organization and structuring, the importance of certain uses of water in the basin. This improved knowledge of uses and users of water resources, and more widely of the basin natural resources, will help to facilitate and strengthen their participation in the Shared Vision process.

For more details, download the report

 
Regional synthesis report on national multi-sectoral studies PDF Print E-mail

In their decision to make NBA a tool of regional cooperation and of integrated development promotion of the basins, the member countries requested that a clear and Shared Vision of NBA be developed with the support of partners so as to create an <enabling environment> for cooperation and to elaborate a Sustainable Development Action Plan (SDAP) agreed upon by all stakeholders of the basin.
For this purpose, NBA decided to achieve, a national multi-sectoral study in each member state to make an inventory of fixtures, to assess the opportunities, constraints and priorities per development sector in the national portions of the basin.



Then, it mandated a team of two regional consultants to:
- prepare a regional synthesis document, from the nine (9) national multi-sectoral studies;
- facilitate the formulation of the proposed formulated Shared Vision for the sustainable development of the Niger basin;
- define strategic GUIDELINES required for the quest of synergy and for the comprehensible coherence of NBA actions with the other regional economic integration strategies.
The current report is the outcome of the regional consultation.

 

For more details, download the synthesis report

 


Search

Calendrier

July 2019
S M T W T F S
30 1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31 1 2 3

• Decrease font size
  • Default font           size
  • Increase font size
Etudes majeures
Etude d’élaboration d’un Plan d’Action et de Développement Durable du bassin du Niger (PADD) - Phase I : Bilan – Diagnostic PDF Imprimer Envoyer

Le projet d’élaboration d’un Plan d’Action et de Développement Durable du bassin du Niger (PADD) est né en février 2002, à Abuja, lors du 7ème sommet des chefs d’Etat et de gouvernement des états membres de l’Autorité du Bassin du Niger (ABN). Ce sommet a formulé la demande qu’une vision claire et partagée soit développée par l’ABN afin de créer un environnement propice à la coopération.



La signature de la Déclaration de Paris, en avril 2004, par les chefs d’Etat et de gouvernement, a réaffirmé cette demande, avec l’adoption commune de principes de gestion intégrée de la ressource en eau. Enfin, le conseil des ministres de l’ABN de mai 2005 a défini le PADD comme étant le document stratégique qui définira et orientera le processus de « vision partagée » entre les pays du bassin du Niger, par une gestion intégrée des ressources en eau et des écosystèmes associés, pour
l’amélioration des conditions de vie et la prospérité des populations à l’horizon 2025.
Ce présent rapport conclut la première phase du PADD « bilan – diagnostic ». Il constitue un état des lieux des enjeux et des thèmes de développement prioritaires sur le bassin versant du Niger.

 

Télécharger le Bilan Diagnostic

 
Etude d’élaboration d’un Plan d’Action et de Développement Durable du bassin du Niger (PADD) - Phase II : Schéma directeur d’aménagement et de gestion PDF Imprimer Envoyer

Le Schéma Directeur d’Aménagement et de Gestion du Plan d’Action et de Développement Durable du bassin du Niger (PADD) est la traduction de la vision partagée à l’horizon 2025 en actions concrètes pour lutter contre la pauvreté, protéger l’environnement du bassin du Niger et renforcer la coopération entre les pays membre de l’ABN. L’énoncé de cette vision partagée avait été adopté en 2005 par le Conseil de Ministres de l’ABN


: « Le Bassin du Niger, un espace commun de développement durable par une gestion intégrée des ressources en eau et des écosystèmes associés, pour l’amélioration des conditions de vie et la prospérité des populations à l’horizon 2025. ».
L’orientation stratégique de développement ainsi que les directives opérationnelles et principes techniques de mise en oeuvre découlent directement des neuf principes de la Déclaration de Paris.

Télécharger le Schéma directeur d’aménagement et de gestion

 
PADD - Scénario rétenu PDF Imprimer Envoyer

RESOLUTION n°3 du Conseil des Ministres de l’Autorité du Bassin du Niger réuni en session extraordinaire le 26 juillet 2007 au Palais des Congrès de Niamey, République du Niger, Relative au développement des Infrastructures socio-économiques dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre du Plan d’Action de Développement Durable (PADD).

Télécharger cette Résolution

 
Rapport de synthèse : Plan d'Action de Développement Durable (PADD) PDF Imprimer Envoyer

Télécharger le Rapport de synthèse : Plan d'Action de Développement Durable (PADD).

 
Etude d’élaboration du Programme d’Investissement (PI) et de formulation des projets nécessaires à la mise en œuvre de la vision partagée PDF Imprimer Envoyer

Le Programme d’Investissement de l’ABN constitue le point d’orgue du processus de la Vision Partagée. Il doit jouer un rôle fédérateur et intégrateur par rapport aux autres initiatives actuelles et/ou futures de l’ABN.



A ce titre, le montage institutionnel de mise en oeuvre du PI doit donc :

 

  • A court terme : ĂŞtre compatible avec la mise en oeuvre du PDRE-GDE et des autres projets et programmes en cours (ITDE, PLCE, appui au projet Niger HYCOS, projet de renforcement des capacitĂ©s du SE /ABN, etc.) et permettre l’harmonisation progressive des modes opĂ©ratoires de ces diffĂ©rentes initiatives
  • A moyen terme : permettre de s’affranchir des logiques projets et programmes (par bailleurs) pour cheminer vers une mise en oeuvre du PI en tant que programme unique de l’ABN.

L’évolution du montage institutionnel permettra de passer d’une logique « projet/ bailleur » à une logique de mise en oeuvre calquée sur la structure du PI (par composante, volet et sousvolet).

Télécharger le Rapport final de l'étude

 
Rapport de synthèse : Programme d’Investissement du Plan d’Action de Développement Durable du bassin du Niger PDF Imprimer Envoyer

Le Programme d’Investissement s’inscrit dans la continuité du Schéma Directeur d’Aménagement et de Gestion du Plan d’Action de Développement Durable (PADD), adopté lors de la Session extraordinaire du Conseil des Ministres tenue à Niamey le 26 juillet 2007. Il constitue l’un des principaux résultats du processus de Vision Partagée.

Télécharger le rapport de synthèse du Programme d’Investissement

 
ATLAS du PI : Localisation des actions PDF Imprimer Envoyer

Télécharger l'Atlas de location des actions inscrites dans le PADD.

 
Participation de la société civile - Phase 1: synthèse régionale de l'étude de Reconnaissance, identification et caractérisation des usagers de l’eau du bassin du fleuve Niger en vue de leur implication et participation effective au processus de la Vision PDF Imprimer Envoyer

Dans le cadre du processus de la Vision Partagée, une étude d’identification et de caractérisation des usagers de l’eau du bassin du Niger a été mise en chantier autour de sept (7) thèmes en vue d’aider une meilleure implication de la société civile à la vie de l’institution et des actions à mettre en oeuvre pour un développement durable dans le bassin.


Les thématiques qui ont servis de base pour cette étude sont l’agriculture et l’élevage, la pêche et la navigation, l’eau potable et l’assainissement, la protection des écosystèmes, les barrages, le tourisme, les mines, l’industrie et l’artisanat.
Cette étude a permis de mieux connaître les acteurs, leurs diverses formes d’organisation et de structuration, l’importance de certains usages de l’eau dans le bassin. Cette connaissance améliorée des usages et usagers des ressources en eau et plus largement des ressources naturelles du bassin, pourra servir de base à faciliter et renforcer leur participation au processus de la Vision Partagée.

 

Pour plus de détails, télécharger le rapport de l'étude

 
Rapport de synthèse régionale des études multisectorielles nationales PDF Imprimer Envoyer

En décidant de faire de l’ABN un outil de coopération régionale et de promotion du développement intégré du bassin, les pays membres ont demandé qu’une vision claire et partagée de l’ABN soit développée avec l’appui des partenaires afin de créer un « environnement propice » à la coopération et d’élaborer un Plan d’Action pour le Développement Durable (PADD) accepté par tous les acteurs du bassin.

A cet effet, l’ABN a d’abord entrepris de faire réaliser, une étude multisectorielle nationale dans chacun des Etats membres en vue de faire un état des lieux, d’évaluer les opportunités, les contraintes et les priorités par secteur de développement dans les portions nationales du bassin.Elle a ensuite mandaté, une équipe de deux Consultants régionaux pour :
- préparer un document de synthèse régionale, à partir des neuf (9) études multisectorielles nationales ;
- faciliter la formulation de l’énoncé d’une proposition de la Vision Partagée pour le développement durable du bassin du Niger ;
- définir des orientations stratégiques nécessaires à la recherche de synergie et à la cohérence d’ensemble des actions de l’ABN avec les autres stratégies d’intégration économique régionale.
Le présent rapport est le résultat de cette consultation régionale.

Pour plus de détails, télécharger le rapport de synthèse

Rapport de l'Etude  Multisectorielle Nationale du :

- BĂ©nin

- Burkina Faso + Annexes

- Cameroun

- CĂ´te d'Ivoire

- Guinée

- Mali + Annexes

- Niger

- Nigéria

- Tchad

 


Recherche

Calendrier

December 2018
S M T W T F S
25 26 27 28 29 30 1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31 1 2 3 4 5