• Decrease font size
  • Default font           size
  • Increase font size
PROGRAMME FOR REHABILITATING PUBLIC IRRIGATED PERIMETERS (PRPIP) IN NIGER REPUBLIC
PROGRAMME FOR REHABILITATING PUBLIC IRRIGATED PERIMETERS (PRPIP) IN NIGER REPUBLIC PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 07 August 2014 10:21

The overall objective assigned to PRPIP is to increase the income of beneficiary populations and to contribute to improve food security in the country.

The specific objective of PRPIP is to sustainably increase agricultural production and productivity of the small agricultural exploitations of public irrigated perimeters (PIPs).

To actually attain this objective, the main measures to be implemented within the framework of the first phase of PRPIP, with a realization schedule running over 5 years, include: (i) the rehabilitation of irrigation and drainage infrastructures at the level of a total of 8 PIP for a total area of about 2,530 ha developed and a total number of about 8,150 land plot exploitation beneficiaries; (ii) the support to beneficiaries  and to their organizations (mainly agricultural or even rice farming cooperatives) in various key domains like the exploitation, the looking after and maintenance of irrigated schemes, water management, and the organizational and financial management of irrigation schemes; (iii) the support to the contracting authority and delegated work for the benefit of  all concerned institutions.

NBA is both the beneficiary of KfW’s financial contribution and the PRPIP project owner. It is represented by its Executive Secretariat and it signed the financing agreement with KfW.

The PRPIP owner agent is ensured by the MAL through the Rural Engineering General Directorate (DGGR), and within that structure the Directorate of Land Development, Water Mobilization and Irrigation (DATMEI). Among the other participating institutions it is worth to name, first, the National Office of Hydro-agricultural Schemes (ONAHA), the Federation of Rice Producer Cooperatives’ Associations (FUCOPRI) and other related specialized organizations, including relating service providers from the private sector.

During the assessment of PRPIP, NBA, the DGGR and KfW agreed that for a good preparation and implementation of PRPIP, as well as for its adequate monitoring and evaluation, it would be necessary to hire a consulting engineer firm specialized in the above mentioned fields. This will help in mobilizing a multidisciplinary team including international, national, and regional experts. Thus, a consulting engineer firm meant to provide those services was hired following an international call for bids issued by NBA and the DGGR.

The specific mission assigned to the consulting engineer is to provide all specialized and supplementary support needed by both the PMCU and the Technical Advisor (TA) to ensure the smooth running of the programme and, therefore, the achievement of the expected specific and global objectives of the programme.

The main service of the consulting engineering is spread over five (05) years and it includes the setting up a multidisciplinary team made up of the following: (1) one mission leader, an international rural engineering expert; (2) two national/regional experts in rural engineering and users training / organizational and institutional development; (3) a team in charge of the realization of DED studies (national / regional experts: civil engineer; hydraulics expert; environmental specialist; topographer; draughtsman etc.); (4) a team of national and regional experts for work supervision; and (5) a pool of international and national / regional experts from different domains for short-term missions; and (6) a support staff team.

Coordinator: Mr Belibi Désiré TSALA

• Decrease font size
  • Default font           size
  • Increase font size
Programme Réhabilitation Périmètres Irrigués
Programme de Réhabilitation des Périmètres Irrigués Publics (PRPIP) en République du Niger PDF Imprimer Envoyer
Jeudi, 07 Août 2014 10:21

L’objectif global assigné au PRPIP réside dans l’augmentation des revenus des exploitations bénéficiaires et dans la contribution à l’amélioration de la sécurité alimentaire du pays.

L’objectif spécifique du PRPIP est l’augmentation durable de la production et de la productivité agricole des petites exploitations agricoles des périmètres irrigués publics (PIP).
Pour l’atteinte effective de cet objectif, les principales mesures à mettre en œuvre dans le cadre de la première tranche du PRPIP, avec un échéancier de réalisation estimé à 5 ans, comprennent : (i) la réhabilitation des infrastructures d’irrigation et de drainage au niveau d’un total de 8 PIP avec une superficie totale aménagée de l’ordre de 2.530 ha et un nombre total d’environ 8.150 exploitations attributaires de parcelles ; (ii) l’appui aux exploitants bénéficiaires et leurs organisations (notamment les coopératives agricoles voire rizicoles) dans différents domaines clefs tels que l’exploitation, l’entretien et la maintenance des périmètres, la gestion de l’eau et la gestion organisationnelle et financière des périmètres ; (iii) l’appui à la maîtrise d’ouvrage et la maîtrise d’ouvrage déléguée au profit de l’ensemble d’institutions concernées.

L’ABN est le bénéficiaire de la contribution financière de la KfW et est le maître d’ouvrage du PRPIP. Elle est représentée par son Secrétariat Exécutif et a signé le contrat de financement avec la KfW.

La maîtrise d’ouvrage déléguée du PRPIP est assurée par le MAE à travers la Direction Générale du Génie Rural (DGGR), et au sein de celle-ci plus précisément la Direction de l’Aménagement des Terres, de la Mobilisation des Eaux et de l’Irrigation (DATMEI). Parmi les autres institutions qui interviennent dans la mise en œuvre du PRPIP, il convient de citer en premier lieu l’Office National des Aménagements Hydroagricoles (ONAHA), la Fédération des Unions des Coopératives des Producteurs de Riz (FUCOPRI) et d’autres organisations spécialisées, y compris les prestataires de services du secteur privé.

A l’évaluation du PRPIP il avait été convenu entre l’ABN, la DGGR et la KfW que pour la bonne préparation et mise en œuvre du PRPIP ainsi que son suivi-évaluation adéquat, le recrutement d’un bureau d’ingénieur-conseil spécialisé dans les domaines cités ci-dessus sera nécessaire, permettant la mobilisation d’une équipe pluridisciplinaire et composée des experts aussi bien internationaux que nationaux / régionaux. A cet effet, suite à un appel d’offres international lancé par l’ABN et la DGGR, un bureau d’ingénieur-conseil international a été recruté et sera chargé de la réalisation de ces prestations de services.

L’objectif spécifique de cette mission d’ingénieur-conseil réside dans la fourniture de tous les appuis spécialisés et supplémentaires dont l’UGCP et la CT auront besoin en vue d’assurer la bonne marche du programme et, par conséquent, l’atteinte des objectifs spécifiques et globaux visés par celui-ci.
Etalée sur une durée totale de cinq (05) ans, la principale prestation d’ingénieur-conseil à fournir comprend la mobilisation d’une équipe pluridisciplinaire dont : (1) un (01) chef de mission, expert international en génie rural / génie civil ; (2) deux (02) experts nationaux / régionaux dans les domaines génie rural / génie civil et formation des usagers / développement organisationnel et institutionnel ; (3) une équipe chargée de la réalisation des études APD (experts nationaux / régionaux : ingénieur civil ; hydraulicien ; environnementaliste ; topographe, dessinateurs etc.) ; (4) une équipe d’experts nationaux / régionaux chargée de la surveillance des travaux ; (5) pool d’experts internationaux et nationaux / régionaux de courte durée dans divers domaines ; et (6) équipe de personnel d’appui.

Coordonnateur: M Belibi Désiré TSALA